050 – First Magic Lesson

Editor: Poor_Hero

TN: THE BIG 50! Milestone reached! I kinda wanna take a little break, lol.

Next milestone : 100.


Monday.

Today would be my first magic lesson since I came to the academy.

” Today’s magic lesson will be conducted with groups of 4! Each group will be given 1 magic tool. Within 3 lessons, I want you to work with each other in your group to learn magic perception! ”

Zelda-sensei said assertively, looking around the class.

” Okay, go find your group – NOW! ”

With that, the class moved.
As usual, the 3 of us were together as a group.

” What about the last person? ”

Zen asked.

” Selphy, do you have anyone in mind? ”

As I threw the question over to Selphy, she shook her head vigorously. With her panicked look like she was about to cry, she leaned in close.

” N, no! This is fine! The lesser the enemies the better! ”
” What enemies…Let’s cooperate with friends. ”

I said, my voice strained, and Zen looked at me with a funny look on his face. What’s with him? Zen, don’t look at your senior with such eyes!

Hm? I am his junior?
I am already 25, going to 30. It was really pathetic to be looked at like that by a 10 year old.

I then suddenly realized.
Could it be….Selphy does not have any friends…?

I finally understand her actions. I messed up. The one who was insensitive was me. To think Zen caught on faster than me… I am ashamed, Zen. Otherworldly kids sure grew up fast. No, it should be me who was useless. I grew slightly depressed, thinking about it and then, I felt someone coming near.

” Can I join you guys? ”

The one who asked us was Miso….no, Mi Sociunnov.

” Sure. ”
” No problem~ ”

Against me and Zen, who accepted his proposal happily, Selphy was looking at Mi with a strange look.

” We were together as well, on Saturday. ”

I said and Selphy showed an accepted yet unaccepting face. As I looked at her, wondering, she moved her gaze away, as to say that it was nothing.

Ah! (Disappointed)

If it was nothing, please don’t shift your glaze away!

Ah, whatever, it was better to start over. Besides, there was something else more important at the moment.

” Sure, welcome. But Mi, you sure got lucky. ”

I grinned and Zen and Selphy, after understanding my words, grinned too. Looking at the 3 of us, Mi had a question mark floating above his head.

” You get to use the magic tool all by yourself. ”

Zen said, happily but that just made Mi even more confused. Then, a loud voice was heard across the classroom.

” Okay, all of you are in a group, yea? I am handing the tools out so come and get them! ”

At the ever-energetic Gori-Macho, Zelda-sensei’s call, all of us went to the front, where the blackboard was. Everyone’s eyes were sparkling, including Zen, excited about learning magic. I had thought that since this world is overflowing with magic, they would treat it as something normal but it seemed like they were moved by the thought of using magic too.

But compared to a person from Earth, they were a lot calmer. Yep. Or rather, compared to the me who first knew I can use magic, they were a lot calmer.

As I wondered who among us should collect the tool, I turned around, only to find the 3 of them missing. Panicking, I searched around the classroom with my eyes, to find them heading straight to Zelda-sensei happily.

….Wait for me!

Onii-san is sad!

” Hmm, I see, so the 3 of you had already learned magic perception. ”

Mi said, finally understanding.

” How did you all learn it? ”

Of course he would ask. Uuuh…. What should I say? Even though we had gotten closer with that case on Saturday but even so, I can’t just go ” Eh, it’s because I retained the memories from my previous life, hehe ☆ “.

It would be depressing if Mi, whom I had finally become friends with, to distance himself away from me for thinking I had some screws loose, much less to say he is the next head of the Count family. I wouldn’t want the rumor that the next head of the Beryl had delusions to travel within the Noble society. For the sake of my job, as well as my mentality.

And just when I was thinking about all that, Zen just went and happily said.

” Will taught us! ”

O—i.

” …….Williams-sama did? ”

Don’t look at me with those eyes!
Don’t look at me with those sparkling eyes!!

With a smile plastered on my face, my brain was working overtime, trying to churn out a solution. Like how frantically the fans turned in a CPU. Then, a helping hand materialized out of nowhere.

” Williams-sama…..? ”

Selphy mumbled.
Oh, oh, Selphy-sama!

I grinned, turning to Selphy. I am pretty sure my expression right now was terrible. She turned away. Don, don’t be discouraged, me.

” Eh? Did I not tell Selphy? ”

Ah, I had seriously forgotten all about it.

” Ca, can it be Selphy-dono did not know about it? ”

Mi exclaimed, surprised.

” Yes..eh, what? Everyone knew about it? ”

Selphy was staring hard at me right now.
….Uuh, I really forgot, please forgive me.

” Williams is….my real name? ”
” Why is it a question mark? ”

Zen had wonderfully retorted to my mumble. Yes, we are often like that.

He continued.

” Will is a noble. ”
” Yea. Because it’s too troublesome so I usually don’t give my full name out on the first meeting. My full name is actually Williams Beryl… ”

Selphy then jumped in and cut off my sentence.

” Seriously? Beryl as in, that Beryl? ”
” Yes, the Beryl Family. In Elzmu, there is only one Noble family with the name Beryl, you know. ”

The screaming Selphy, the nodding Mi, Zen who had a weird look and the stunned me. What was this chaos?

As I stood there, stunned, Selphy suddenly pitched forward. And the one standing behind her was….. Zelda-sensei.

” You guys, what are you doing? Quickly start your magic perception now! ”

He then struck Selphy’s forehead with the side of his hand. It was what people call a hand chop.

” It hurts!! ”
” Focus on your class work, focus! ”

Leaving Selphy who was in pain, Zelda-sensei left those words and walked away.

…….Doing that to a girl…..He has no mercy!!

I looked at Selphy who was crouching down and hugging her head in pain, then at the same time, Mi, Zen and me looked at each other and gulped. That was dangerous, so dangerous. Zelda-sensei was scary.

” And so, could you explain? ”

Lucky or unlucky, after calming down and recovering from the pain, Selphy asked immediately.

” Ah, you see, I am worried about being distanced if I said my full name. ”
” ……Hm, as expected of Will. You really don’t it like it, do you? ”

Selphy said uneasily. Grabbing hold of this chance, I replied her forcefully.

” Yep. So please treat me like you had before! ”
” Alright…. ”

Selphy seemed to have accepted it but… was it my imagination that she looked a little down?

” Erm, really sorry Selphy. I did really intend to tell you. ”

Wondering if it would console her, I apologized to Selphy. I was the one who had forgotten and as friends, it was natural to apologize as it was my fault. Selphy smiled and mumbled ” It’s not that..don’t worry about it. ”

Hm?
It was not that? What was it? I don’t understand. Anyway, she said not to worry about it so I guess everything was all right.

I kinda convinced myself and turned my attention back to the lesson.

” Eh, is the Beryl family that amazing? ”

Zen mumbled, still having that weird look on his face.

…..Sigh, let’s start the lesson please.

” Do you understand, Mi? ”

In any case, leaving aside Selphy and Zen who were talking about ‘Gion-sama’, Mi and I were working hard on the lesson.

Which means, Magic perception time~

Mi was currently placing his hand on top of a bronze box.

The bronze box ―――― It was a tool to help train one’s magic perception. Touching the structure will cause the place which was touched to let out some mana. A processed square bronze box with an empty center, there were intricate patterns densely carved on it. These carvings seem to make up for the magic formation.

True, in the middle, there seemed to be 《魔力ちょっと垂れ流し》[TN: Maryoku chotto darenagashi, Leaking a little mana out] written on it. Well, the other carvings were something additional I guess.

….Rather, 《魔力ちょっと垂れ流し》was rather crude. I am sure there were better ways to phrase it.
[TN: Leaking / soiling. For example, your pants.]

Well then, although this tool looked like something that came out of the pocket from the blue tanuki, the power behind this was most likely a mana stone.

According to the notes John-sensei made for me to memorize, the country Hattuo had many ‘Magic Fields’ where Mana Stones came from.

Mana stones, as the words implied, are stones that have mana in them. As these contained pure mana, they could be used with any magic attributes.

For example, the [Collar of Slavery.]
I don’t know what attribute it was but….remembering it after this all while this made my mood turned sour. But, I had mixed feelings knowing the stones could be used this easily.

As I stood there, deep in my thoughts, I was called back by a loud voice. Well then, let’s help a friend in trouble.

” Mi, retract your power. Come, he-he-hoo- ”

I will not accept any retorts about it not being the situation for the Lamaze technique. It can’t be helped because I cannot think of any other technique to aid retracting of power!

And so, my first magic lesson ended in the midst of chaos.

◆◆◆

AN:
Selphy [The difference in status between Will and me…. my love….won’t lose!]

75 thoughts on “050 – First Magic Lesson

      1. I DONT EVEN REMEMBER THE FIRST TIME I SAW HIM ‘_’ , I just know he’s here, he’ there, he’s every where 😂😂😂😂

        Liked by 3 people

      2. Not only meatbun is everywhere, libraryrocker too! Ugh…. it is so frustating seeing them everywhere as i am always late…….almost all the novels that i read, they are everywhere!!! If i find a novel that they don’t read, i will go ecstatic and happy and say “finally!!!” With a really exaggarated happiness in voice and face….. luckily there is one or else i will go irritated…..(not really irritated, just annoyed at the fact that they are always first).

        Like

  1. Thank you for the chapter!
    Ah, the autor really use too many word to mean very little, this chapter could be resumed in 3 lines:
    1: Will, Zen, Selphy and Miso formed a group in mag class.
    2: Selphy discovered Will’s noble’s house.
    3: Miso started to feeling mana.
    Ah, I’m really worried that story will end with few events 😯

    Like

    1. There is somewhere a page with books resumed to one paragraph. Like “whale hunter hates whale that eat his leg, both die together when whale jumps over the ship”. Mody Dick. (I just made it)

      Problem is, most of the time there are few things happening, and the japanese authors put a lot of words without turning it interesting. Unless you love descriptions of how food is done, how hard was for the MC to find the ingredients, the alternative ways to cook when one ingredient is not available, and the pleasures the characters feel when eating.

      Other way to add words to a text is discussing how the MC discovered that people take bathes in the other world. If they have public baths and if they are mixed or not, how much it costs, and so on.

      THAT is being booooooooooooooooooooooooring.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Оh! It’s just my thoughts exactly!
        All this cooking stuff – I really don’t like it. Especially, when in an alternative ‘European’ world Japanese authors are insisting importunately with feeding everyone and everywhere with the Japanese cuisine. If you are so much starving about the modern Japanese life, then why were you even placed your MC in ‘European’ world?
        Fortunately, that’s not the case of this ranobe.
        This ranobe is really the ‘Light’ novel. Very easy-going.

        Liked by 1 person

    2. 3 movies Lord of the Rings = 6 hours watching “just to return a ring”.
      all action movie = 2 hours watching “juctice will prevail”

      Like

  2. .   几
    .  /⌒⌒\
    . | ▽..▽|/―-、
    .  \_ww / ̄丶|Thanks!
    .  /(゜Д゜)/   |/  &
    .// フつO  Trick or Treats!
    .V/  /〉    Nepu!!
    .`~uu-′

    Like

  3. I don’t get why Will think about telling miso he was reincarnated when miso asked who taught them magic perception, he could just tell him same how he told zen and zelphy. Thanks for the chapter. =)

    Like

    1. Except that the dense Will-sama has no idea that he’s captured her. Well, he has that mental block about his looks driving the opposite sex away, but the reason he still has that attitude is that he’s dense.

      Like

      1. When your mom tells you you’re ugly and no one else for some reason tells him otherwise. Can’t really say I blame him. His main problem was he was a in a non hentai japan. If he was anywhere else or in a josei series he’d have been raped by the time he was 12.

        Like

  4. It feels great catching up. Congrats on the milestone and if you need a break, take it, we need you fresh so you can keep churning those chapters on regular basis, jejeje.
    Thanks for the translation 👍 ✌

    Like

  5. That Selphy… Somehow, with the voices of the faeries no longer troubling her she’s come out of her shell. Or maybe (“The fewer enemies the better!”) it’s more than that.

    Thanks for the chapter!

    Like

      1. Well his mother made sure he woud be traumatised for the rest of his life and reincarnation sadly. I wouldnt say he’s dense he just cant fathom the possibility of someone liking his hideous face.

        Like

      2. The trauma is a huge factor but if he wasn’t at least a lil dense he’d have figured it out a life ago lol. After all even if he was ugly as sin he’s still charismatic yet he doesn’t realize how charmed everyone is by him, looks aside.

        Like

  6. AN:
    Selphy [The difference in status between Will and me…. my love….won’t lose!]

    Wait I’m confused, I thought girls were put off by his mediocre looks, Will said so. I mean how can she be attracted to him if she can’t even stand to look at him, she turns away every time their eyes meet.

    Like

    1. all right Lets going again the boy is super hot (all the maids love him , the ex shadow and the smae teacher say he is beautiful ) , fot that the girl is shy and can see to the eyes

      Like

  7. Yay, congrats for 50 chapters!!
    Thanks for the chapters, pumkin-sama!!

    I think if Will is like Shin from MM, he will probably changed the properties of the magic tool already😄. Well… Maybe he will change it in the future or maybe even create one?

    I’m still waiting for Miso-kun’s POV chapter which continues the contents of the letter by the father… Can someone spoil to me how many chapters are there before we know the contents? Please, and thank you as I’m dying of curiosity.

    Like

      1. Magi no Mago or Magi’s grandson. Last time it was translated by Japtem, now it by absurdTL. Nice book but no harem though.

        Like

  8. Ganbatte, Selphy! (≧З≦)
    I like how Will actually realize he is insensitive, although its for the wrong thing~ hahaha
    Thank you for the chapter, Pumpkin-sama! \(>ω<)/
    May you be safe throughout the halloween!

    Like

      1. Ah… True… But she still have a chance if she steps out and confess her love. But it probably wouldn’t happen, I think LoL

        Like

    1. I remember a Full Metal Panic Fumoffu episode that Main Heroine was trying to get the pathetic jocks from a Rugby team to take the sport serious. She was yelling at them to get their heads on straight and to man up. After she said that they started shouting out equal rights between genders. It was hilarious.

      Like

  9. It has been 26 hours since I started to read this LN and I have caught up and I am now sad. But TY for the Chapter and keep up the good work.

    Like

  10. While I think that hiding your name like that is not unusual or weird in his circumstance, I really dislike how he treats his family name, honestly disrespecting it.

    And I’m glad he’s helping Miso to learn how to use magic the normal way.
    Carrying people is not a good thing.

    Like

  11. Selphy… that was basically a death flag. Or dead love flag. I can already tell Will will have a bunch of girls around him and he would be dense to not notice anything. I hate harems like these *sigh* And I don’t ship Wilphy either. Welp, I can only grit my teeth and bear the odd decahedrons of love.

    Like

  12. Thanks for all the chapters. I sincerely enjoy reading this story and I’m always excited when a new chapter comes out.

    Do you know if anyone is planning on translating the manga?

    Like

  13. Previous Post
    049 – Flower On Both Hands?
    My previous assumption seems to hit on spot

    Chapter 49 was foreshadowing the BL plot about Mi and ZEN (OMG!)
    Sylphy is not included she well be kick out later while zen and mi well fight for MC’s LOVE!!!

    I wanna cry AUTHOR don’t turn this to BL!

    Like

Leave a Reply

